“Let’s go running”

18 May

I was at work today when I got a text from my younger sister, Princess Megan, with three of the worst words ever known to someone as physically inactive as myself… “Let’s go running.” But, I can’t complain too much because my sister has been through a lot this past year, battling melanoma. To see more about how she has over come this challenge in her life, watch her YouTube story here.

I have tried for years to become a person who enjoys running. I do good for a few weeks or months, and then I always seem to fall off the bandwagon. Sigh. I envy people who just look good all the time and were blessed with a super high metabolism (like my sister, love her dearly though!).

So, thinking I might stick with it this time if I had a running partner, I excitedly respond, “SURE!

Big mistake…maybe. 🙂

We decide to go running at the local dam, and we feared that because it was the first super gorgeous day in our area it would be packed. We lucked out, thank goodness! (Less people to witness my humiliation.)

Picture from here.

We decide to take it easy as this is the first physical activity either of us has done in a while. Over the course of the next 45 minutes, we alternate between walking briskly and light jogging.

At the end of mile 1… doing good. Still enjoying the warm breeze and sunshine. Jamming along to my iPod playlist.

At the end of mile 2… my lungs are on FIRE! I feel like I am breathing through a straw! And we are a mile away from the car!! :/

At the end of mile 3… stick a fork in me, I’m done! I feel like dying right there on the pavement. I see black spots and pray that the ground will remain under my feet where it belongs.

While I want to die, I’m still glad I went. It may only have been one run, but it was a step in the right direction to becoming a healthier Princess!

And when we got home, our parents decided that today was the best day to go out for Dairy Queen, so we celebrated a good run by eating Blizzards. Gotta love the irony.

Leave a Reply

