Job Hunting

12 Jun

What fairy tale would be complete without a dragon, evil witch or a terrible twist in the plot line the readers never saw coming?! Well, as I have decided to write about my life as though it were a fairy tale, I guess my first dragon would have to be…. job hunting.

Dun, Dun, Dunnnn

Okay, so maybe I’m being a bit dramatic, but this is a stressful time and I feel that college did a somewhat poor job of preparing me. Now, before you form an angry mob or start shooting fiery arrows my way, let me share my side of the story…

1. Yes, they did tell us that networking is important, and sure, a networking event or two were planned. But where they failed, was always having theses events at the same time (mid-afternoon). In order to attend the few I did, I had to either leave class early or call off from work. I mean, let’s think about this, would it honestly have been so terrible to have 3 or 4 events throughout the semester at DIFFERENT TIMES (i.e. morning, afternoon, evening)?

2. The professors. Where do I start?! We’ve all been there, had those few teachers who believed they were the creator’s gift to whatever program/major field of study they were teaching. These were the same individuals you couldn’t avoid because they were the only professor to teach the 1 and only 1 session of the REQUIRED course you needed to take every stinking semester for 4 years. Unfortunately for me, I had a few semesters where this particular professor was teaching 3 of the classes I had to take. (Yikes!) On the flip side, you have those awesome mentor professors (I need to give credit to such a professor for introducing my class to WordPress, and thus the beginning of my blogging journey here!) These professors give 110% to their students and are willing to listen to concerns and fears we may have about what the outside world is really like. They take us under their wing, but know when to push us out of the nest so we can fly free. College needs more professors who inspire their students, rather than those who are merely here still because they have tenure and will never leave. Okay. I’m done ranting on that.

3. Resume and Cover letters. For all the harping my college professors did about the importance of a strong resume and cover letter, not once did they actually take the time to teach us how to write these the proper way. Sadly or not, depending on how you look at it I guess, I learned this valuable skill when I was on The Disney College Program and taking the class “Marketing You“. I learned more in that 11 week class about how to job hunt and market myself than I ever did during my 4 years at college. When your professors say they are preparing you for the job market, laugh to yourself silently, because you won’t be fooled.

4. Teach me something I’ll use someday, PLEASE! I have been at my internship for 2.5 months now and I have YET to use anything I EVER learned in the classroom at college. Sure, the professors will talk about real work situations they faced (20+ years ago….) is it possible that some of these situations could have changed since then? I wish I would have had more hands-on-training and yes, to this some will say “if that’s the case, go to a technical school” or “that’s what an internship is for.” While both may be correct and true solutions to this problem, technical school was not an option for me, and as I have stated above, I am doing an internship. However, there are times my boss will ask me to do something and I’ll have no clue what she is talking about. Then I spend the rest of the day feeling about 2 inches tall because it was something they should have taught in school it seems like. So when I filled out my intern reports to hand in, I mentioned that, and received the response from my professor that they don’t have the time or the need to teach those things, and that we as soon to be working adults need to take the time to figure it out on our own. If that’s the case, why did I spend 4 years of my life and oodles of money sitting in a classroom listening to you?!

So, that brings me back to my dragon… my job hunt. I will be graduating in 2 months and I feel very behind in this game called life already. Awesome, not even out of the starting blocks yet and I’ve already tripped over my shoelace, twisted my ankle and scrapped my knee. Lovely.

Alright, so it’s not that bad. It’s not that I’m not doing something, because I am. I am on all the job search boards (i.e. indeed, careerbuilder, monster) and every night I apply to job after job after job. But of course, because I am a new graduate and I have little to no experience, it seems like no one is willing to give me a chance. It makes it even more difficult as I am trying to relocate to a warmer climate after graduation and I personally don’t know anyone to network with in that area.

All I want is for someone to say okay, let’s see what you can do. My response (in my head of course) would be an enthusiastic “Bring it on… let’s do this!” I thrive on proving people wrong. If you tell me I can’t do it, that’s fine, but please, for your safety, stand back as you watch me thrive. It may be dragon-1 me-0 for now, but those odds will shift in my favor soon enough. I can feel my second wind starting to kick in.

Now, I must make this very clear, I am not one of those damsel’s in distress kind of girls, I can slay my own dragons just fine, but I wouldn’t mind having you along as the cheering squad.

Leave a Reply

