Grilled Pizza {Almost!}

15 Jun

About a week ago I saw a post by a fellow blogger and personal chef (how cool is that?!) about grilled pizza (Here!)…… it looked DELICIOUS! And I thought to myself (as I usually do when I see something cool on the internet) “that doesn’t look to hard, I bet I could make that, too!”

Now, let me make this known to all in the Kingdom….

I don’t cook. Ever.

If it can’t be put in the microwave or eaten right off the shelf, chances are high that I either: A) Don’t know HOW to make it or B) If I tried to make it, it wouldn’t be edible.

Side note: I am a VERY good baker, though! But I digress….

So, as I was saying, I saw this grilled pizza and it looked FANTASTIC! My mouth was watering just reading about this pizza, and it sounded simple enough to make. My family and I decided to attempt this tonight! Here’s all the ingredients!

Let me break this down:

1. Roll out dough on floured surface….. I kind of struggled with this part. No matter how hard I tried, I could NOT get that dough to be in a circle! Oh well, at least oval pizzas taste the same as round pizzas! 😉

2. Place the floured dough on a cookie sheet, then slide the dough onto the grill.  (It should only take a few minutes to cook on the grill, but check frequently to prevent your crust from burning.)

3.  Once the bottom is browned remove from the grill with a spatula. Return to cookie sheet. This is where things starting really falling apart. Turns out we have the wrong grill to use for pizza. The grill rack has narrow rungs with wide spaces…. where as the ideal grill for grilling pizza is the opposite….. wide rungs with narrow spaces. (Darn.) Thanks to this little mishap, as our pizza cooked, it sank into the grill rungs creating rivets in the dough.

So as you can see from the picture, it wasn’t cooking very well. The edges were nice and cooked, but the middle still looked as uncooked as it did when I opened the package. Grilled Pizza Fail. 😦

[Enter the King with hot dogs and hamburgers to use on the already heated grill…. his philosophy in life “Never miss an opportunity to grill out!”]

So…. what do you do with a half grilled pizza with a gummy center? You take it inside, put your toppings on the already grilled/cooked side and place pizza in the oven (see temperature on pizza dough instructions) for 8 minutes or until the dough is golden brown and the cheese is melted.

Finished Product!

We cut the dough in half to create 2 personal pan pizzas. Pizza on the left has ranch salad dressing, pepperoni and cheese. Pizza on the right has tomato sauce, pepperoni and cheese.

Even though this was a failed attempt at a cool recipe, it still tasted wonderful! There was a bit of that right-off-the-grill smokey flavor in the dough, so I guess it wasn’t a total failed attempt. More like a learning experience.

So, needless to say…. for the time being, we will not be grilling anymore pizzas. Well, at least not until we get a new grill or I find some other cool trick on the internet. If you would like to see how the grilled pizza is SUPPOSE TO turn out, check out the blog post that started this crazy adventure here!

I hope that if you give this a try you have more success than I did! Someday, I will take on this challenge again, and I will win! Until then…. I think I’ll leave the grilling for things like veggies, hot dogs and hamburgers.

Leave a Reply

