Finding Happiness

14 Jan

Today I had a bad case of the Mondays…. I don’t know why, it just never really turned into a great day. Okay, maybe that’s because I’m still not sleeping…. I thought you were suppose to outgrow nightmares?! But back to Monday, I was just having one of those days were I wasn’t happy, I wasn’t sad, I was just… blah.

And then I happened across this gem during my lunch break:


Happiness is a state of mind

Disney to my rescue once again. I got to thinking about it. I was the only thing standing between me and my happiness today. So I finished the day on an up note, I was going to do something to lift my spirits. And thus I found myself running in 30 degree weather….I must be crazy! ME, the girl who three weeks ago would have rolled her eyes if you suggested “hey, let’s go for a run.” Me, the girl who hates the cold.

That’s right, Me, the girl who taking back control of her happiness while training for the Expedition Everest 5K Challenge in May at Walt Disney World! Only 109 days left to train….I’ve so got this!

And I found that after my run/walk in the bitter cold, I was happy. I accomplished the “unthinkable” from a few weeks ago. I broke down some walls, pushed past the negative voices in my head that told me I wasn’t strong enough or healthy enough to be training for a 5K, and I enjoyed leaving the world behind for 40 minutes. Nothing can touch me when I’m on that course, I’m in my element. And thinking about it now, I think I’ve found happiness in what I would have once considered an unlikely place…on a trail, with only me, my running gear and my iPod to keep me company. In those precious moments, I have never felt more alive, at ease or at one with myself.

I hope you, too, find your happiness this week!

Leave a Reply

