This little piggy went to market and this little piggy….

29 Jun

Was the star of the pig roast!

pig roast

Okay, so the real star was my cousin Eddie as it was HIS graduation party and the REASON behind said pig roast, but still.

Growing up in my family there are certain things you learn at a very young age:

  • It does not matter if you are wearing a shirt with your name on it, you will be called by all of your cousins’ an siblings’ names before you hear your own
  • You WILL be a Buckeyes football fan (I’m pretty sure we bleed scarlet and gray)
  • You will look forward to summer because it means it’s time for another PIG ROAST!

Now, I was especially excited for today because I MISSED the last pig roast (which was my little sister’s graduation party) because I was still on the Disney College Program living in Florida, and it was more important to me to get the time off to be at her actual graduation than to be at her party weeks later. (That doesn’t mean I didn’t pout a little when I was told all about it and saw the pictures on Facebook, I KNEW the deliciousness I was missing out on.)

My uncle has a special grill that he uses to cook the pig in…don’t ask me HOW he cooks it (well, for this party he was out of town, so the task was handed over to my grandfather and one of my cousins) because I couldn’t tell you. I just know that when it’s done it’s got a smoky flavor that is to die for! And we don’t JUST have pig, we include a turkey as well, because why not?!

pig roast and turkey roast

Now when the pig is ready, make sure you are standing close enough so that you can grab a piece of skin while it’s toasty hot! Trust me, the crunch and the flavor will be worth it! My cousin Mandy and I are pros at getting the first couple of pieces!

cousins at the pig roast

 

You don’t like pig you say. Don’t worry…. there’s always plenty of other food to enjoy as well! Believe me, when my family throws a party (and if you happen to actually KNOW my family, you’ll know we don’t even really need a REASON) we do it right – I’m talking taco salad, potato salad, macaroni salad, broccoli cheese rice, oriental salad, veggies, fresh fruit, deviled eggs, and who knows what else you could possible eat. Don’t believe me, take a look for yourself:

pig roast food

 

Okay so before you think the only reason I like pig roasts is because of the food, let me remind you that I have a VERY close-knit family (on my maternal grandmother’s side) that loves to socialize and we have get-togethers often. I’ll be honest, I love spending time with my family. They are some of the loudest, craziest and most wonderful people I know. It’s so much fun just standing around talking and hearing about everything that everyone has been up to. Yes, you could argue that because we are all on social media we already know how they are doing or what exciting things are happening, but it’s not the same as having a face-to-face conversation with someone, you never know what tangent you’ll get off on!

At the party today, I saw my cousin and her family (husband and 3 little kids all under the age of 6) who live in another country, but are back for a couple weeks because her sister is getting married on July 6, 2013! And I got to see another cousin’s husband and 2 of their kids (she and the baby are still in their home state until later in the week, but they will be here in time for the wedding as well).

And we can’t forget all the bonding time I had with my nephew who is 7 weeks old already! Oh how the time flies! I love being an auntie! He’s such a cuddle bug! Already he is trying to stand and climb up your body and over your shoulder!

Aunt and baby nephew

Needless to say, it was a great afternoon, filled with delicious food and wonderful company!

Leave a Reply

