Independence Day 2013

7 Jul

HAPPY [BELATED] FOURTH OF JULY!!

I don’t know how your holiday was, but mine was jam packed. And while it was a fun day, I couldn’t help but find myself wishing I was at Disney watching Magic Kingdom’s special fireworks: “Disney’s Celebrate America! – A Fourth of July Concert in the Sky.”  The year I worked at Disney, I saw this show from two very different places, one was during my break from backstage by The Haunted Mansion and the other was on the beach at the Polynesian Resort…and in my opinion it’s one of the BEST places to watch fireworks. Don’t believe me, here’s a video someone pretty special to me filmed from the beach at Disney’s Polynesian Resort this week.

To see more of his Disney videos, check out Scott’s Disney Vlog!

As for my day… I had the day off work, gotta love when a holiday falls in the middle of the week! We went to a family reunion in the early afternoon. Same thing happens every year, good food, good company and catching up on family news. After the reunion, I had an hour of downtime before I headed off to work at a local country club. (A friend and her mom work there when they have big events and sometimes ask me to come help as well.) I was told that we would be home by 11pm (I needed to have some sleep because I had to be at work bright and early Friday morning) and since I wasn’t doing anything else, I figured why not get paid to watch some fireworks?!

Usually when I help out at the country club I am a waitress – bringing food, getting drinks, clearing tables, but this time I was going to be learning to bar tend.

[FREAK OUT!!!]

Let me explain….I can count the number of drinks I’ve had on ONE hand and I’m okay with that. I’ve never felt that I needed to drink to be accepted and still don’t. I don’t think it makes me weird either, it’s just my own personal choice and I respect the different choices and opinions of others when it comes to social drinking.

 

Anyways, my knowledge of alcohol is little to none, but luckily I was with someone who has been bar tending for years and he was very participant in teaching me the ropes. The waiters and waitresses were also very understanding. After a few hours I was starting to feel a little less overwhelmed, however I don’t think I will be quitting my day job anytime soon. After 7 hours behind the bar, I had mastered mixing one of the four specialty drinks, I was starting to get pretty good at pouring beer and I was starting to remember which type of glass went with each drink (tall and skinny, short and fat, with or without a stem, pop glass, water class).

The event was for members only of the country club and was happening all over property. There were about fully-stocked 4 bars open and operating at the same time. We closed our bar around 9:30PM, just in time for the fireworks. The show was okay, yes there was music playing (it may have been from the other festivities happening around the club), the fireworks were huge and the colors were beautiful, but nothing can compare to Disney fireworks. I saw a quote online that said something like “July Fourth is the one day Disney fans go to their local firework shows and say ‘eh.'” Yup, that pretty much summed it up. There were like three encores so that was kind of cool I guess.

By now it’s 10:15PM and we are more than ready to leave for the night, but we can’t until two of the bars are completely torn down and cleaned up for the night. We didn’t even clock out for the night until 11:45PM (home by 11PM, yeah, guess not.) and it was another hour or so drive home. I didn’t fall asleep until after 2AM and was rudely awaken at 5AM by my alarm clock announcing it was time to get up for another day at the office. I have never wanted to stay in bed more than I did at that moment. Luckily it was a quiet day at the office and I got a lot done on a project I was designing.

So, in a nutshell, that was my day. Hope you had a wonderful (if less exhausting) holiday as well! Here’s a few photos from the day! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

