Adventures in the kitchen: Berry Bread

2 Sep

Here’s what I LOVE about blogging, it connects you with people from all over the world who share similar interests. A few days ago I was poking around on blue sky vitality and discovered she posted a recipe for Berry Bread.  Her photo looked delicious and it seemed simple enough to make, and there it was, a new challenge!

Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE to bake. I can’t cook to save my life, but baking and I are tight! I find it enjoyable and relaxing to mix cookies, brownies, fudge and cakes. And now, for the first time, I’ll be adding bread to that list!

Here’s the ingredient list from blue sky vitality:

Berry Bread

2 cups almond meal/flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
4 eggs, whisked
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon vinegar
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 cup mixed berries (defrosted if frozen)

Okay, before I started throwing ingredients into the bowl, I had to FIND one key ingredient… almond meal. It took me three different stores before I located it in the organic/gluten-free section of a local grocery store. Let me inform you know, because I was kind of shocked, this stuff isn’t cheap!

Almond Meal/Almond Flour

Since I had today off (Happy Labor Day everyone!), I decided today was the PERFECT day to try this out, and I thought it would make a nice breakfast surprise for my family. So what do you say, care to join me in the kitchen?!

I don’t know if it’s just me, but when I’m baking, I like to have all the ingredients together and waiting from the start. I can think of nothing worse than getting half the ingredients mixed only to discover you are missing something. So here’s everything from the above mentioned list of essentials for this bread!

IMG_6710a

Step 1: Preheat oven to 325º F. Mix together almond meal, cinnamon and baking soda.

IMG_6712a

Step 2: In a separate bowl mix together all other ingredients (except berries).

IMG_6715a

Step 3: Mix together wet and dry ingredients until they are well combine.

IMG_6717aStep 4: Gently fold in the berries. (I used half a cup of blackberries and half a cup of raspberries, but you can use whatever berries you like best! Mix and match, have some fun with different combinations and colors!)

IMG_6719aIMG_6720aStep 5: Pour mixture into a greased loaf tin and cook for 30 to 35 mins. (For my oven, I ended up baking my bread closer to 40 – 42 minutes thanks to the toothpick test – insert a toothpick into the bread and when it comes out clean you know it’s finished baking!)

IMG_6722a IMG_6727aStep 6: Serve warm with butter.

IMG_6731a IMG_6735a IMG_6738a

I am very pleased to report that this was very easy to make and soon had my kitchen smelling delicious!

Now for that all important question – “How did it taste?!” There’s not really a way for me to describe it. The texture was different, which I expected because of the almond meal. It was very moist and the berries were wonderful warm. To be honest, it will take some time for me to get use to the taste because it’s different from regular bread, but I did enjoy it, and what’s better, my family seemed to as well!

All in all, I think we will call this one a success in the books and I’d recommend it to anyone who loves to bake and likes to try different kinds of food!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Adventures in the kitchen: Berry Bread”

  1. Emma Polette September 2, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Thanks for trying out my recipe! I’m glad the family enjoyed it. x

  2. Sabrina @ Living, Learning, Eating September 8, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    That looks so healthy and delicious!

    • mgibbon2 September 8, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      It was in both accounts!! I’d love to know if you give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

