Life’s little turns

10 Sep

Blogtember theme – Describe a distinct moment when your life took a turn.

The moment that comes so suddenly to mind would be the day I was accepted into the Disney College program three years ago. Check out this post from my old blog to read about my journey to becoming a cast member.

My time as a cast member, just shy of one full year, changed me. While there I learned to live with roommates, something I’d never done before, learned to budget, cook and manage my time. I became more responsible knowing my parents weren’t there to fall back on. I began to overcome my shyness, at least on-stage. Every time I was in my costume I reminded myself I was wearing my “show shoes” and that meant it was time to play a character. For my entire shift I was someone else, someone outgoing. I saw a different, more confident side of myself. I fell in love, had my heart-broken a couple of times and met my best and closest friends.

My time there was not just fun and games either, I took four classes for college credit and networked. I knew even then that when I eventually came home to finish my degree (which I did last August, has it really been a year already?! Yikes the time sure does fly!) that I wanted to return to work for The Walt Disney Company©.

I had the opportunity to meet people from around the world, to hear the stories and career journeys of some of the Disney legends. I saw where these people where and I envisioned myself there, too.  For a short while I was part of the magic. Nothing can describe seeing someone’s face the first time they walk down Main Street U.S.A. and see Cinderella’s Castle or watch “Wishes,” Magic Kingdom’s nightly fireworks show.

I was forever changed because I witnessed the magic. I made the magic. I saw the wonder and joy on the guests faces, even when they were less than pleasant to the cast members. There are no words to describe the effect working there has had on me, but I can say that it restored my hope that there is some love and magic and happiness still left in the world, because it didn’t matter how bad my day was as long as I was able to bring a smile to at least one guest’s face.

To visit Walt Disney World as a guest is one thing and to work there is something completely different. It takes a lot of people and a lot of work behind the scenes to make the magic possible and every day I long to return. And it’s a dream I refuse to give up, no matter how long it takes me to achieve. I know where I belong and I will do just about anything to make it a reality.



One Response to “Life’s little turns”

  1. lisa September 10, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    miss you roomie <333

Leave a Reply

