One Run at a Time

29 Sep

I hate having asthma. Today was my last chance to get in a long run before flying to Walt Disney World in a couple days for The Tower of Terror 10 mile race and a stupid truck spewing black smoke went and ruined it. I feel like a failure because I didn’t even make it to 2 miles. I felt an asthma attack coming on and so I stepped off to the side of the road to take my inhaler and call my dad to pick me up. I’ve never been so disappointed in a workout before. 😞

I guess it also doesn’t help that where I live the seasons are starting to change. With the arrival of fall comes cooler temperatures (mid 60s) and a wind that feels like it cuts through you. A dangerous combination for an asthmatic runner, even under the best circumstances (I.e. no black smoke from trucks filling already compromised lungs which are working hard already.)

Luckily, I was recently introduced to a great Disney running support group on Facebook and they were there to lift my spirits.

Different members commented that they too had asthma and knew how challenging running could be.

I have asthma also 😦 u have trained up, one last long run isn’t going to make or break a race! Go, have fun, trust your training! You will do great!!! Bring your inhaler 😉

Look back at all the successes you have had in your training–I bet you have way more “wins” than “losses”! It’s all the work you have put in over the last few months that will get you across the finish line strong! Have fun at ToT–that’s a race on my bucket list for sure!

I have had my share of ups and downs during my training….dealing with blisters that refused to pop and heal…

20130929-222923.jpg

And then there was the day I discovered I’d actually been running 8 miles when I thought I’d only been going 6! And on hilly, country roads!

20130929-223124.jpg

When the ToT race starts, trust your body to adjust your pace. Don’t worry about your time or pace. Enjoy the course and of course the after party.

I feel so very blessed that these people I’ve never met before believe in me. I am as ready as I’ll ever be at this point. I WILL cross that finish line Saturday night and it won’t matter what place I’m in or the time on the board. All that matters to me right now is crossing the line and proving to myself, asthma and all, I’m able to tackle 10 miles with strength, determination and a little pixie dust!

Will you be running at Walt Disney World this weekend?!

2 Responses to “One Run at a Time”

  1. gloucks7 September 30, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    Good luck at the Tower of Terror 10 Miler this weekend!

    • mgibbon2 September 30, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

      Thank you!! Waiver printed, running shoes packed and ready to go! Getting more excited by the minute!!

Leave a Reply

