Cloud 1,000

16 Feb

Have you ever been so in love, you just wanted to shout it from the rooftops, print in the papers, write it the sky and tell random strangers on the street about how happy you are this special person chose you? If you haven’t had that feeling yet, trust me when I say it’s one of the best natural highs you’ll ever experience.

It’s no secret that I’ve had my heart broken a few times, and that I’ve had to relearn to take life, love and relationships one day at a time. But can I just say what a difference a year makes – February 14, 2013 wasn’t all that spectacular, except that I began to love me, and I took the steps needed to heal emotionally, and even learned to trust my heart with someone new.

While the events I’m about to tell you about happened for Valentine’s Day, that’s not what this post is really about at all. It’s about finally feeling whole, like I’ve found the missing puzzle piece in my life – him.

I’m use to low-key Valentine’s Days. Even WHEN I was “lucky” enough to be with someone — it’s always just been another day. And please don’t get me wrong, I’d rather show and receive love the other 364 days of the year if it was one or the other. But, that being said, I’ve still always wondered what it would feel like to be surprised on this day meant for romance. And I was prepared for this year to be the same, with the exception being the wonderful man I have in my life who reminds me daily how much he loves me.

However, when he asked me about a week and a half ago if I had a house address other than the Post Office Box address I’d given him for Christmas (for those of you who may be wondering, we are in a long distance relationship, about 1,040-ish miles give or take are between us), I didn’t want to get my hopes up because honestly, who knew why he was asking. Yeah Valentine’s Day was coming up, but it has never/wasn’t really on my radar…

But when he started asking me the Monday of Valentine’s Week if I’d gotten any deliveries, I couldn’t stop myself. My interests were peaked and I became giddy with excitement. For the next three days I anticipated seeing something waiting for me when I returned home from work, only to be greeted with nothing. Finally, Thursday during my lunch break, I received an excited text from him that it had been delivered and I added to the excitement as I told him the package I had mailed him had been delivered that day as well! So on a whim, but mostly because he had a 12 hour shift the next day and chances of us talking would be slim, we decided to celebrate a day early.

When I came home from work, this is what I found waiting, cue the waterworks, I was so excited! No one, besides my parents who don’t count in this situation, has given me flowers before!

IMG_4963_a

Excitedly I sent off a text asking if I could open them or if I had to wait until we got to video chat. He wanted to see my reaction, so I waited – not so patiently – to see the flowers he had picked for me! As I waited, and the anticipation grew, emotions quickly took over me.

While I waited for him to drive home from work so we could video chat, and before I even looked in the box, I loved him more. It didn’t matter to me what kind they were, all that mattered was he picked them out specifically for me. In that moment, I had my first valentine and my heart was overflowing.

He was very adorable on our video chat, I could tell he was anxious to see what I’d sent him, so he opened his first. It was all very simple, but from the heart. Again, not knowing anything other than a low-key Valentine’s Day, I opted for homemade, from the heart, and personalized crafts. He loved them all!

Then it was my turn!! First I found this:

IMG_4966

It’s the envelope that held a very sweet, very personal and heartfelt message. Again, I started to tear up. That lifelong dream of being someone’s Valentine was coming true and it was better than I ever could have imagined. If the Grinch’s heart grows three sizes at Christmas, mine must have burst with love and affection. And then I saw my flowers and words failed me.

IMG_4968_a

He didn’t just send me flowers, he sent me a dozen of the most beautiful, long stem roses I’ve ever seen! I couldn’t make a coherent thought let alone express out loud how much I loved them! As I was admiring my beautiful bouquet, I smiled as a random quote from the movie “The Perfect Man” popped into my mind:

…a flower like this is perfect, and giving a woman a dozen of them, it’s like saying there is such a thing as perfect. And it’s out there.

Once I put my flowers in water and admired them a few more minutes, we had one wonderful two-hour video chat. I loved that during that time talking and laughing, it somehow felt like the miles weren’t quite so far apart. There are days when it’s hard being so far, but I know in my heart it’s worth it because I knew without a doubt that he is my perfect – our quirks compliment each other and there’s an ease I’ve never felt with anyone else, somehow we just click, – he’s the one I didn’t know I’ve been waiting for.

All weekend I’ve been in this state of utter bliss. I would say I’ve been on Cloud 9, but that’s just not good enough to describe the happiness and love I am blessed to have in my life – it’s more like I’m on my own personal Cloud 1,000 and I have no interest of rejoining the earthlings anytime soon! In fact, I think I’m going to float around on this cloud of mine forever, because when you’re happy and in love, why should you be reduced to walking?!

Oh and my flowers…. here’s what they look like three days later! I’m just going to put this out there – my man did good, he did VERY good! ❤

IMG_5016_a

3 Responses to “Cloud 1,000”

  1. Kiri February 16, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    I love your last photo! This is a lovely post and lucky you getting such a lovely gift!
    X
    Kiri
    http://www.fashionblender.com.au
    http://www.facebook.com/FashionBlender

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Lover’s Holiday | The Undercover Princess - February 16, 2016

    […] I will be the first to admit that in that past, I have dreaded this particular holiday…but when you find someone one special, and I mean REALLY SPECIAL, that all changes! […]

Leave a Reply

