Cheesy Cauliflower Breadsticks

27 Aug

My family has recently started looking for healthier food options and while wasting time on Pinterest the other night, I happened upon this recipe for Cheesy Cauliflower Breadsticks. They are gluten free, low carb and surprisingly DELICIOUS!

If you’ve got a picky eater in your family, this is the PERFECT recipe – you can’t taste the cauliflower and based on the texture, you’d never guess they have a secret ingredient!

Now I’m not a cook – I honestly HATE cooking, but this was a super simple and quick recipe.

So let’s get cookin’! Full credit for this recipe goes to Jo from the blog Jo Cooks, make sure to check her out, she has some great recipes that I cant wait to try in the future!

What you’ll need:

  • 4 cups of riced cauliflower (about 1 large head of cauliflower)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups of mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tsp oregano
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 to 2 cups mozzarella cheese (for topping)

Here we go fellow cooks!

1. Preheat oven to 425 F degrees. Prepare a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Wash and dry cauliflower.

3. Make sure your cauliflower is roughly chopped in florets. Add the florets to your food processor and pulse until cauliflower resembles rice. (I had a medium size cauliflower head and it made about 3 cups of “riced” cauliflower.)

4. Place the cauliflower in a microwavable container and cover with lid. Microwave for 10 minutes. Place the microwaved cauliflower in a large bowl and add the 4 eggs, 2 cups of mozzarella, oregano, garlic and salt and pepper. Mix everything together. (Next time I make these, I think I’ll cut back on the oregano just a bit, personally I thought it overpowered the other flavors.)

5. Spread the mixture onto the prepared baking sheets for the breadsticks. (I used a jellyroll pan. That’s the name my mom just gave me!)

IMG_5497

6. Bake the crust (no topping yet) for about 25 minutes or until nice and golden. (It’ll start smelling DELICIOUS, just be patient and let it bake!)

7. Once golden, sprinkle with remaining mozzarella cheese and put back in the oven for another 5 minutes or until cheese has melted. (I used the rest of the cheese from the small package we bought – about 2 cups to evenly cover the whole thing. My mom also added some Parmesan shaker cheese just for kicks!)

IMG_5500

8. Slice and serve. (My family ate this up QUICKLY!)

All in all, this one is a SUCCESS! One to save for future use! Give it a try — can’t wait to hear how you like it! Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

