#DFCencounter

17 May

Can I just say how much I love attending church. It does not matter how troubled my heart and soul feel when I enter, I am comforted and at peace when I leave. More times than I can count, the message feels like it was created specifically with me in mind.

Tonight we had an extra special helping of worship, a night of song and praise called “Encounter.” As the program for this morning’s service stated – it was to be a night “to worship Jesus thru music hosted by DFC Worship (the band).”

And man did they deliver. Check out the opening scene’s wow factor!

There are few things I love more than lifting my voice up in song with hundreds of others in praise to the Lord. I wish you could have heard it – I had chills it was so powerful and moving and beautiful.

I do need to take a minute to send a shout-out to the amazing crew from tonight. If you aren’t familiar with DFC, the worship hall is HUGE! There are two giant screens that show a live video feed of everything happening on stage so that even if you are seated in the very far back corner, you can see everything! There were at least a dozen volunteers I saaw manning cameras, lights and the soundboard, not to mention the ushers and the band members themselves for dedicating hours away from their families to put on an amazing performance.

Words will never do tonight justice, so check out the amazing visual effects in these pictures!

About halfway through, the band took a short break and the lead singer, Jessie, provided a breif explanation about why they chose to call tonight “Encounter.” The whole night was centered around Isaiah 6:8.

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

As Jessie said, Isaiah had this encounter with the Lord, this opportunity to go forth to the word and be a witness.

Then Jessie asked the audience two thought-provoking questions:

1. What is holding you back?

2. Who is on your heart? Who is it in your life that it breaks your heart they don’t know Jesus and the love he has for each of us.

From there, the evening continuted with more songs, some that were new to me (“You Make Me Brave” by Amanda Cook & Bethel Music) and others near and dear to my heart (“This I Believe” by The Creed and “Whom Shall I Fear” by Chris Tomlin.)

The combination of the band and the audience and the words and visual effects made for one incredible evening. I feel so blessed to have been able to attend. I am ready to take on the week feeling rechanged and full of the love of my Lord and Savior. I have nothing to fear, everything is in His hands, all I need to do is be His witness and praise His glory in my life.

Who’s with me?!

Leave a Reply

