Sunday Lunch – Baked Margherita Spaghetti Squash

26 Jul

I have never been very talented in the kitchen. Cooking meals has never come easy for me. I’m more of a “can I put it in the microwave” kind of girl. But when it comes to baking, now we’re talking, but that’s a post for another time, I digress. Anyways, when I found this recipe online a few days ago, it looked fool-proof!

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: Approximately 40 – 50 minutes

Serving size: 2 (I doubled the recipe to make enough to feed four people today!)

Ingredients:

IMG_9461a
1 large spaghetti squash
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 large Roma tomato, finely chopped
2 tbsp. finely chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tsp. each salt & pepper
1 tsp. garlic powder

Let’s get cookin’!

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
2. Using a large knife or a cleaver, slice the spaghetti squash in half lengthwise down the middle. Use a spoon to remove the seeds and center strings. (Helpful hint: If the squash is too hard to cut, place it in the microwave for 3 – 8 minutes depending on the size of the squash.

IMG_9464aIMG_9467aIMG_9469a
3. Drizzle the two halves with olive oil and then sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

IMG_9472aIMG_9473a

4. Place the squash, open side down on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes. (*Next time I would cut back on the amount of olive oil. It was pooling in the bottom of the squashes.)

IMG_9476a

5. Remove from the oven, check to see if the squash is soft and easily comes up with a fork into a spaghetti like texture. If it’s too hard to remove, cook for another 10 minutes. Scrape and fluff the stringy squash with a fork. Leave the squash in the skin.

IMG_9480aIMG_9482a

6. Turn the oven up to broil. Add the tomatoes and fresh basil into the squash, stir and top with the mozzarella cheese. Place in the broiler for 3-4 minutes, until the cheese is melted and slightly browned.

IMG_9486aIMG_9485aIMG_9487aIMG_9488a

7. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before serving the squash. Enjoy!

IMG_9491aIMG_9495a

This dish looks beautiful and tastes even better! I only had one slight problem when I burned my thumb (yes, I was using potholders!) when I took the pan out of the oven for the last time. Luckily, my dad told me to put some Lavender essential oil on the burn to take the sting out!

IMG_4149a

This is a dish I will definitely make again! Although my family had a suggestion on how to make it better – when scrapping out the squash, put it all in one pot and add the tomatoes, basil and cheese to the whole mixture. We noticed that some of our squashes didn’t cut right down the center, so the portions were a little off – some had lots of squash, some had a little.  I think combining everything in one bowl and cooking it through one last time would make it easier to mix the tomatoes and basil throughout the squash, that was a little difficult to do in the small squash halves.

*I found this recipe on Facebook – from what I could tell it was originally posted on the Losing It With Trisha Facebook page.

5 Responses to “Sunday Lunch – Baked Margherita Spaghetti Squash”

  1. The Person Next to You July 26, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe and pics of the process. Looks amazing!

    • mgibbon2 July 26, 2015 at 9:46 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by my blog! I hope you give this dish a try and enjoy!!

      • The Person Next to You July 26, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

        I definitely will try it. I think I will pass it to my Mom, too. She loves spaghetti squash and Italian food, so this dish would be a big hit, I’m sure!

      • mgibbon2 July 26, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

        I’m so glad to hear that!! When you make it, come back and let me know what you think! It was a big hit with my family, wishing I would have made extra for lunch tomorrow!!

      • The Person Next to You July 26, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

        Will do!

Leave a Reply

