Sunset Lake Walks

18 Aug

There is nothing quite as relaxing as taking a sunset walk at the lake. Where I live, I am lucky enough to be within 15 minutes driving distance of two state parks and 3 minutes driving distance within a third state park. It was the latter where my mom and I found ourselves this evening. 

We enjoyed a 1.19 mile stroll along the “Boardwalk” as the sun sank lower in the western sky, painting the heavens pink, orange and shades of purple. Tonight the path was quiet, with only one other fellow walker out to enjoy the view. (About said walker, what we could not understand was why he was smoking a CIGAR while exercising?! Isn’t that counterproductive?!) 

During our walk mom and I had some quiet time alone to just chat…our special bonding time! We’ve come a long way with our bonding time since my days of high school when I would need to talk to you about all of life’s ups and downs way past 10 PM when all you wanted to do was sleep. Hahahaha!

Tonight at the lake was just what I needed to clear my mind and help me refocus on the exciting things to come next week and to let go of the situations I can not change. Nothing like nature to help you once again feel grounded and centered and at peace. I only wish I were a painter so I could capture the beauty all around me!   

   

One Response to “Sunset Lake Walks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wellness Wednesday- 9/23/15 | The Undercover Princess - September 24, 2015

    […] of things – sometimes I’ll do a fitness DVD, if the weather’s nice I’ll go walking at one of the state parks that are close to my home, and more recently I’ve been marching in place in myliving room […]

Leave a Reply

