Timehop Musings

23 Aug

Ever innocently hop onto TimeHop and see a post such as this…

  

Six years ago on Friday…. I was apparently considering transferring to a new college in the west. Why is this worth musing about you ask, because had I gone the course of my entire life could have turned out completely different.

Imagine this….

Way back in 2009, at the ripe ole age of 20 (a month shy of 21), I packed everything up and moved across the country. Sure it sounds exciting, and who doesn’t love an adventure, but EVERYTHING would have changed from then on.  

I would have been living on campus, therefore I wouldn’t have been commuting everyday for class. I wouldn’t have been in the student center cramming for a test one morning during spring semester where I happened to see a flyer, half hidden behind another mind you, announcing a Disney College Program information meeting for later that night…

Had I not attended the meeting and applied for the program, I potentially could have missed out on an amazing opportunity of working for one of the best companies in the world. I wouldn’t have made lifelong friendships and fell in love. I wouldn’t have run my first 5K, thanks to the suggestion and urging of my amazing roommate, nor discovered running’s therapeutic qualities. It also would have meant not having my heart broke twice and mended once, nor meeting one of my very best friends in the whole world (we are so alike, we should have been sisters) who helped me through the mess and onto better days!

Transferring schools would have also meant my major could have been something other than advertising. If you didn’t know already, I was undecided for a while – taking intro classes in a few different majors until I found one that clicked. That click happened when I took an intro to advertising class with an inspiring professor and the only way to take more of her classes was to declare advertising as my field of study. Not attending the school in my home state would have meant no internship at the hospital, where I then filled in as a part time/casual employe for each of the full time girls’ maternity leaves and was then hired full time when they both returned. Chances are I wouldn’t have developed my graphic design skills for projects like billboards, brochures, social media or t-shirts.

But like every person who has held a coin or a book or a piece of paper knows, there are always two sides to everything. I’ve just shared with you all the stuff I would be missing, but what about the exciting things that could have happened….

Attending this school would have meant living on my own, would have forced me to make new friends and grow up much like the Disney College Program did.

I would have shared a dorm or apartment with a girl I grew up with and all the time together would have been amazing! She may have even got me into running as she was (and I believe still is, just like a good portion of her siblings) into running.

This school would have been closer to my family members in California, and I would have been able to visit with them for holidays and school breaks. And speaking of my California family, my aunt had told me of someone who also attended that school who she though would have been a great guy for me. Maybe, had he and I met, we may have hit it off and become inseparable.

Let’s chase that thought all the way to crazy town…

He was probably a couple years older than me, and when he graduated he would have proposed and I would have instantly said yes! 3 months later there would have been a beautiful wedding and 6 months later we would have been announcing the upcoming arrival of our first little bundle of joy.

School would have been put on the back burner for a while. I’m not even sure what I would be studying; political science, sociology, creative writing, homemaking…

Neither path was right or wrong, both would have offered unique opportunities. But looking back with hindsight, I’m very glad I didn’t transfer, there are things I may not like about my life today, but I wouldn’t trade the journey for anything as it’s turned me into the person I am today, who is so lucky to have the love and support of such wonderful people.

Anyone else out there ever find themselves wondering “what if I’d made this choice instead”…. or am I the only one?

Leave a Reply

