Moody Climate Control

2 Dec

For those who are close to me, it is no secret that my mood and the weather are closely linked. It’s easy to be happy and excited and ready to take on the world when the sky is blue and the sun is shining. But what about days like today (and how days will be for the next 6 months where I live) where the weather can only be described as… gray. 

Let me break it down, I hate this time of year, weather-wise. I hate being cold. I hate the dark. And both of those are currently dominating the outdoors. When I woke up this morning, it was chilly and raining, thus, the dark clouds prevented me from glimpsing the sunrise. I only knew the sun came up because the atmosphere took on a slightly lighter shade of gray. Then I made a soggy trek into my building where I sit at a desk for 8 hours WITHOUT A WINDOW. And when I leave work tonight, it will be nearly dark, and completely dark before I reach home. 

All day with no sunshine. No blue sky. No warm breeze. Needless to say, I’m not feeling very chipper. I feel sluggish and tired, irritable and moody, and all around not like myself at all. Adding to the party is a  killer migraine and a strong desire to go home and sleep until spring remakes its appearance. But I over-exaggerate. Don’t get me wrong, I love the dark and cold on occasion, summer nights when the pitch dark sky makes it easy to see millions of stars, or the feeling of excitement only a cold Christmas Eve night can bring. 

And now, sitting here at the back of my office space at a big picture window, Mother Nature bestowed a fleeting gift, one stray beam of sunlight just for me! Maybe today isn’t a total loss after all.    

 

One Response to “Moody Climate Control”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The mood, the moods, the moodies. | The Hempstead Man - December 2, 2015

    […] Post: Feline Climate Control Chronicles of an Anglo SwissClimate Control – with all its problems The Undercover PrincessMoody Climate Control Saint P. bloggingPrompt for the Day: “Climate Control” To Wear A Rainbowseason of love Riley […]

Leave a Reply

