Guys I want a castle

5 Feb

Flynn Rider was on to something when he said “I could get used to a view like this. Yep, I’m used to it. Guys I want a castle” (Tangled, 2010). He of course, was referring to Rapunzel’s parents’ castle. The castle I’m referring to is Cinderella’s Castle at the Magic Kingdom in Orlando, Florida.

Lately, I have been missing all things Disney. The attractions. The food. The cast members. The smells. The characters. The fireworks. The castle. Mainly, the castle. Do you have one thing that when you experience it at Disney, even for the hundredth time, it still causes tears to pool in your eyes and a lump to lodge in your throat?

The castle does for me, always has. I guess you could say that the little girl who wanted to be a princess and live in a castle still lives within me to a certain degree. But, I think I just associate hopes, dreams, magic and love with that castle.

The first time I saw it I was 12 years old during my family’s first ever trip to Walt Disney World. Sadly, I don’t remember much, but when I entered Magic Kingdom for the first time during my Disney College Program, I DID remember the castle – perfectly. Every spier, the colors, the grandness, the beauty. Time had not faded that memory, only etched it permanently on my heart. For an entire year, I saw that castle almost every single day, and my love for it grew and grew because I was now a part of its magic – I was a cast member. I worked at The Happiest Place on Earth. I felt like I had stepped into this magical story where characters are real and dreams come true. The world seemed brighter, happier, kinder. The castle remained my source inspiration on the days when work was challenging.

Now, the castle has a different meaning. This August will mark five whole years since my last shift as a cast member, and while I have returned to the parks many times over the years, it’s not the same. There are new people working the attractions, there are places I can’t go now, costumes I can’t wear. The castle, for the most part, has remained unchanged and it is a magnet that draws me in – when I see it there at the end of Main Street, U.S.A., I know I’m “home.”

As many former cast members tend to do, I’m always looking for ways to bring a little Disney magic into my everyday life. So when Shutterfly sent me a code for a free mousepad, I knew EXACTLY what I was going to use for the photo! This view of the castle is one of my favorites because it’s not the typical straight on shot everyone takes, and I think it really shows off the grandness and beauty of the structure.

This little gem has brought me so much pixie dust at work already. Everytime I see it my heart smiles and my mood lightens! And for a breif moment, I’m at Magic Kingdom feeling the breeze and hot Florida sun, eating a dole whip and taking in the wonder that is Cinderella’s Castle for the millionth time!

So tell me Disney friends, what ways have you found to bring Disney magic into your everyday world?!

2 Responses to “Guys I want a castle”

  1. Scott February 14, 2016 at 10:42 am #

    I bring Disney magic to my life every single day seeing you! I met you at Disney, we fell in love at Disney and if it werent for Disney, we might not even know each other! Disney brought me to you!

    • mgibbon2 February 15, 2016 at 10:03 am #

      Awe Hun!! Yes, that is so so true! That’s where our story started and everyday I am grateful that you are here with me to remind me of the magic! I love you so much!! đź’‹

Leave a Reply

