It was the first time, but not the last – A short story

29 Jun

It was the first time, and it wouldn’t be the last. At least that’s what everyone had told me leading up to today, some way to calm my nerves, huh.

Breathe. Just breathe.

A nightmare I’d been late caused me to wake up before my alarm clock this morning. I sure could have used those 45 extra minutes of sleep, but oh well now. It’s almost time.

Focus. Concentrate. 

Before leaving, I checked my confirmation email, the weather and the traffic report no less than three times, and had to change outfits because my jitters caused a lovely glob of toothpaste to land on my strategically selected blouse.

I hope that’s not omen for how today will turn out. Stop. You can’t think about that right now. 

Unable to sit still any longer, I left home an hour early, and thank goodness I did! A fallen tree from last night’s storm created a detour that sent me 15 minutes out of my way.  But I made it, and with 15 minutes to spare. Flipping down the visor, I check my make-up once more. Please don’t let there be lipstick on my teeth or running mascara!

Surprisingly, no make-up was out-of-place. Even my untamable hair was on its best behavior still.

See?! You’ve got this! 

I concentrated on my breathing exercises, needing to calm my thundering heart. One, two, three… Resting my head against the seat rest, I slowly inhaled and exhaled, feeling my lungs expand and compress.

Oh no! I forgot my purse! My bag!

Crisis averted, they are both sitting on the floor of the passenger seat. To ease my worried mind, I check inside my bag.

Cover letter? Check.

Resume? Check.

Portfolio? Check?

There was no time left to stall – with ten minutes before my scheduled meeting I entered the building and found reception. She looks friendly enough, I think I’d like it here.

Hello. I have an interview at 9:45 with Mr. Lewis…

Leave a Reply

