What’s for dinner?

1 Jul

That use to be a question I’d ask my parents every evening, now that Scott and I have our own place (I know, I know, I haven’t mentioned it much. I will, when I’m ready.), we take turns asking each other.

For those who know me well, my aversion to all things cooking is nearly comical. I’m more of a microwave-it girl. But….since I have to be an adult, I have deciding to give cooking a fair chace, and surprisingly, I am learning to love it!

Last night, I had the answer – Caprese Chicken. A-couple-weeks ago I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed and one of my friends had liked a video quickly demonstrating how the dish is made. After watching it a-couple-times and tracking down the recipe online, I decided this was a meal I could make!

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast

Salt and pepper to taste

1/4 c. balsamic vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced (I bought a jar of minced garlic, 1 tsp = 2 cloves)

1 pint grape tomatoes, halved

2 tbsp. shredded basil (I had dried basil, so I used that instead)

Mozzarella slices

img_8333

Start off by halving your tomatoes. This took me roughly 15 minutes. Save in a bowl for later! You’ll be glad you did this ahead of time!

 

img_8334

In a large skillet, heat oil on medium-high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Cook until golden-brown and cooked through – roughly 6-7 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate until later.

 

Add balsamic vinegar to skillet to deglaze, then add garlic and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add your halved tomatoes and season with salt. Let simmer until soft, 5-7 minutes. The stir in basil.

I used this time to clean up my workspace a bit. While cooking the chicken, the hot oil had a tendency to spit out of the pan and got all over my stove top and countertop. I also used this time to begin putting used ingredients away and utensils in the sink.

Return chicken to the skillet and nestle in the tomatoes. Cover with a slice of mozzarella and cover skillet with lid to melt cheese.

Spoon tomatoes over chicken and serve.

img_8344

I served this meal with some steamed vegetables and it was everything comfort food is supposed to be! Full of flavor, the chicken was juicy, the tomatoes melted in your mouth and the cheese was ooh-gooy delicious! Facebook recipe for the win! This is a meal I know we’ll be making many times!

2 Responses to “What’s for dinner?”

  1. mylifeasishan July 1, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

    Looks greatc

    • mgibbon2 July 1, 2016 at 6:54 pm #

      Thank you! I highly recommend you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

