Adieu, 2016.

31 Dec

Can you believe we are here again already…New Year’s Eve. Honestly, where has the time gone? I hear people say all the time the older you get the faster the days fly, but this is the first year I am noticing just how quickly they are passing.

2016 was a year that many people won’t forget, but oh so many wish they could. We started off the year with elevated lead levels in Flint, Michigan’s water, the passing of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, then we witnessed an attack on an airport in Brussels, the Zika outbreak, the Transgender bathroom use debate, mid-year brought the Orlando nightclub shooting, a gator attack at Walt Disney World, an attack on police in Dallas, TX, and Baton Rouge, LA, a devastating earthquake in Italy, Hillary Clinton’s email scandal, while the end of the year ushered in an EpiPen price surge, a California tour bus crash, the election of Donald Trump as the next American President, a countrywide clown scare, Hurricane Matthew, and a Berlin terror attack on a Christmas market.

We said goodbye to numerous, beloved celebrities including Alan Rickman (Professor Snape from the Harry Potter saga), Joe Alaskey (portrayed Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck  and other Looney Tunes characters), Nancy Reagan (former First Lady), Doris Roberts (mother on TV sitcom Everybody Loves Raymond), Gene Wilder (Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory), Ron Glass (from the sci-fi TV show Firefly), John Glenn (first U.S. astronaut to orbit the Earth), Alan Thicke (Growing Pains), Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia in Star Wars) and Debbie Reynolds (Singin’ in the Rain, and Disney Channel’s Halloweentown movies).

However, 2016 did have some high points that we shouldn’t forget about… the Chicago Cubs broke their World Series curse (although I personally was pulling for the Indians!), the Mannequin Challenge provided some laughs, Billy Gilman came out of hiding and competed on The Voice, another Harry Potter book was released, Simon Biles dominated during the Summer Olympics, the Cleveland Browns actually won a football game, and Leonardo DiCaprio Won His First Oscar!

For me, personally, 2016 was a year of change, firsts and learning to grow. Here are some of my favorite highlights from the year!

1. Scott moved to Ohio.

2. After being at my job less than 6 months, I planned and executed the largest event my company held. In addition, I secured $20,000 in sponsorships.

3. Scott and I moved into our own apartment.

4. We traveled to see Scott’s family three times, one of those being to attend his sister, Abbey’s wedding this past summer. I was so honored she asked me to do her hair for the big day!

5. I applied for and was accepted to graduate school.

6. Cleveland Cavs won the NBA championship.

7. Attended concerts for Rascal Flatts and Newsboys.

8. Completed my first semester in grad school with two A’s!

9.  Participated in a 5K run with both of my sisters at church.

10. Grew my faith and became even closer in my relationship to God.

To ring in the New Year, Scott and I have joined my parents and sister, Macayla, for a night of card games, Pie in the Face, sparklers, pizza and homemade guacamole!

Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

