DIY Earl of Sandwich Holiday Sandwich

1 Dec

One of the things I miss most about living in Florida is Earl of Sandwich and it’s a stop I always make when I go back to visit my friends and coworkers. Before moving down there I’d never heard of this place, but I was hooked after one night out with friends and a delicious ham and cheese sandwich. And then I was introduced to the Holiday Sandwich and it was like a little piece of heaven between a bun!
20131201-121906.jpg I have talked this sandwich up many times, and even introduced it to my family when they came to visit me in Florida. My dad liked it and I tease him by sending home pictures of my sandwich to which he responds with “bring one home for me!” 20131201-122541.jpg And with thanksgiving leftovers currently filling the refrigerator, we decided to give recreating this delicious sandwich at home a try!

You will need:
• Sub Buns
• Turkey (the photo from Earl of Sandwich is thinly sliced, but we used the leftovers from Thanksgiving)
• Stuffing
• Cranberry Sauce
• Gravy 20131201-123323.jpg There’s no exact measurements of science behind building the sandwich. Start with your sub bun and a layer of turkey. Then put a layer of stuffing and on top of that a thin layer of gravy. 20131201-123936.jpg Next add one more layer of turkey, a layer of cranberry sauce and a tad more gravy and you’ve got it! One at home version of Earl’s Holiday Sandwich! 20131201-124412.jpg I wanted mine flatter like the original sandwich, so we put it in the quesadilla makers for a few seconds (this step it optional). 20131201-125105.jpg 20131201-125341.jpg What do you think, pretty similar, right?! Hope you’ll give this a try sometime this holiday season, I promise, you’ll love it! 20131201-125621.jpg

6 Responses to “DIY Earl of Sandwich Holiday Sandwich”

  1. Rosie Baillie December 2, 2013 at 5:05 am #

    The only time I’ve ever been to the Earl of Sandwich was last year in Disneyland Paris and the sandwich I had was the best sandwich ever. Unfortunately I can’t remember what was in it now so I can’t recreate it 😦

  2. The Disney Diva January 29, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    Looks great! I love your blog!
    I also post Disney-recipe remakes on my blog if you want to check them out.

    • mgibbon2 January 29, 2014 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks for dropping by my blog! I just subscribed to yours as well and can’t wait to start exploring! Did you happen to notice my Disney College Program page, spent a year working at the Happiest Place on Earth! Hope you’re having a magical day! 🙂

      • The Disney Diva January 29, 2014 at 11:47 am #

        I will have to check that page out as well! You’re very lucky, I wanted to try the college program but never did, but I do plan on someday ‘retiring’ and getting a job at the parks. Sounds like a lot of fun! 🙂

  3. Erica August 18, 2015 at 8:49 pm #

    Love this! You forgot the mayo though!

    • mgibbon2 August 18, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

      I don’t remember it coming with mayo. But feel free to add whatever condiments you’d like to make it extra special!!

Leave a comment