Five years later

19 Sep

I can’t believe it was five years ago today I went on my first date with this handsome, funny, sweet, charming, Disney loving man. I was only one month into my adventure on The Disney College Program, and he was there on the program as well – only difference being he’d been in Florida since May. 

We spent the day exploring Epcot. It was only my third time in Epcot as a cast member and my second time backstage. All day long he made me laugh, pointed out hidden Mickey’s and shared his vast Disney knowledge. 

I didn’t know it at the time, but I was falling head over heals for him. There was just something about him that made me instantly happier, comfortable and more at ease. It was a very natural feeling to go strolling around World Showcase hand-in-hand….I wondered how that could be when I’d only met him a week earlier! But like a moth to a flame, I was drawn in and never hesitated.

My favorite moment from that day, and I have often thought back to it, has nothing to do with rides, attractions or shows. We were merely standing in line at one of the outdoor food vendors in the England pavilion so Scott could order fish and chips. He pulled me in to give me a hug and whispered something funny in my ear (I don’t recall what it was now). As I was laughing, I saw this elderly hispanic couple walk past us heading towards the Canada pavilion. I saw her squeeze the man’s hand, tilt her head in our direction, and looking straight at me, she said “amor.” I didn’t retain many vocabulary words from my four years of high school Spanish, but that one I knew – love. 

“Could she be right?” “There’s no possible way, I just met this guy!” “She’s crazy – the Florida sun must be getting to her or something.” “Can I love someone without really knowing them?”

This whole exchange, which Scott missed because his back was to them, took place in a matter of seconds, and yet, it has stayed with me. Did they see something in us I couldn’t see? Or maybe she saw herself at my age and was reflecting on being young and in love. 

Whatever it was, what I wouldn’t give to find that woman today, just so I could give her a hug and tell her she was right! To this day, when he looks at me I radiate love. When he takes my hand, our fingers are like perfectly fitting puzzle pieces sliding home. And when he kisses me, oh the butterflies! (This song describes all of my feelings perfectly.) 

I am madly, deeply, truly in love with this man – and if the years have taught me anything, I will do whatever it takes to keep that love burning bright and strong. And I am so excited to see him in 38 days, being a long distance couple really stinks sometimes, but it’s all worth it once we are back together!! 😍😘❤️     

Leave a comment